Other Ministers

Cabinet Members

The cabinet is the central decision-making body of the Government. It is a collective forum for Ministers to decide significant government issues, discussion and public consultation documents, proposals involving new legislation or regulations, proposals that affect the Government’s financial proposal or important financial commitment, and controversial matters.

List of cabinet members

Other Ministers   

  • Minister of Customs (Hon Casey Costello) – NZ Customs is responsible for administering the Customs and Excise Act including the Excise and Excise-equivalent Duties Table Order (i.e. collection of alcohol taxes).
  • NZ Police (Hon Mark Mitchell) - NZ Police is responsible for enforcing some aspects of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012. They are also responsible for reporting on license applications (together with the Council and health authorities). NZ Police regularly update their strategy and action plan on preventing and reducing alcohol harm, as part of their commitment to increase the safety of NZ communities. Alcohol has been identified as one of the key drivers of crime.
  • Hon Matt Doocey is the Minister for the Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC). ACC is responsible for administering the no-fault accidental compensation scheme (commonly known as the ACC scheme) if people are injured in an accident. 

Back to the previous page